Papa Roach – Crooked Teeth Review

New shit from Papa Roach has me thinking, this is the comeback of the year…..

Before I get all into the PSA (public service announcement), I’m gonna throw my 2 cents in. First I was never a really big fan of Papa Roach, sure they had a few catching hits in the early 2000’s but like I said. Just not my cup of tea. Now before you all chew my fucking head off, I wanna let you know I just listened to the whole album and I’m telling straight faced, this shit is fire! I did not receive the last album F.E.A.R and frankly even though I have been covering some of SoCal’s biggest events in this genre…… I had no fucking clue they were back!

With that being said, this is the time to make the comeback of the century. Bands like Pennywise, The Offspring and so many more are back on the touring circuit and killing it right now, making it a perfect time for Papa Roach to be releasing new material and touring. Even though Eleven Seven Music sent me the video for “Help” (video below), my favorite track has got to be “Born for Greatness.”

Do I recommend you buy this album, yes I do. More importantly though I would suggest you get out of your fucking house and go see them live. I know I will be front and center when they hit the SoCal area, so that we can cover it for FRONT Mag!

(Pre-Order the album on iTunes | Amazon [Standard, Deluxe]) 


Papa Roach announce the May 19th release of their ninth-studio album, “Crooked Teeth” via Eleven Seven Music. The band has already given fans of taste of album with the November release of the title track (listen HERE) and the explosive new single “Help,” (listen HERE) both of which will be instantly available to those who pre-order the album on iTunes (Standard or Deluxe) TODAY! Crooked Teeth will be available digitally and physically, as a standard (10 tracks) and deluxe (10 tracks + 3 brand new tracks + 16 Live tracks Live at the Fillmore Detroit) editions (see details below).

“Help” burst on to the radio waves and streaming services earlier this month by debuting as #1 Most Added at Active Rock and is currently #6 with 4 million streams. The band previously released the first their first new music at the end of 2016 with the release of “Crooked Teeth,” which boasts ‘old school’ Papa Roach attitude, paired with an 808 bass drop into a metal breakdown.”

Written and recorded in a cramped North Hollywood studio, Crooked Teeth was produced by first timers Nicholas “RAS” Furlong and Colin Brittain, with the exception of “Born for Greatness,” which saw the band collaborate with writer/producer Jason Evigan (Jason Derulo, Demi Lovato, Zedd, Maroon 5) for this positive, pulsating anthem. Furlong and Brittain, who grew up listening to Papa Roach, inspired the band to revisit some of the traits that personally endeared the band to them, most notably Shaddix’s remarkable rapping technique and the bands intense live energy.

“The first time we met up with RAS and Colin, they said that [2000’s] Infest was on constant rotation when they were growing up and they wanted to bring back some of that fire,” says Shaddix. Adds Furlong, “The whole idea was to take the classic elements of Papa Roach that everyone loved and revamp them into a modern version of the sound through the creative process, and we ended up with a bold, courageous and more adventurous version of Papa Roach.”

The Furlong/Brittain production team worked to bring in elements of music from different genres and parts of the world, and pockets of rhythm people associate more with rap or reggae, while still staying true to Papa Roach’s sound. “The people who have wanted to hear me rap for years are gonna love some of the viciousness on this record,” Shaddix

From the instantly infectious nature of the title track to the atmospheric sheen of the moody ballad “Periscope” (featuring Skylar Grey) and the acoustic/ hip-hop rock mashup of “Sunrise Trailer Park” (featuring Machine Gun Kelly adding a verse to Shaddix’ rap) “Crooked Teeth” displays the various sides of Papa Roach and illustrates why they’ve managed to remain relevant while other musical trends ebb and flow. “We didn’t go into this album with the intention of trying to write radio singles,” guitarist Jerry Horton explains. “This collection of songs was really about bookending everything that we’ve done prior to this album and reintroducing Papa Roach to people who didn’t realize the depth that we have,” says drummer Tony Palermo.

In many ways making “Crooked Teeth” reminded Shaddix of the band’s earliest days, well before they sold millions of albums and became a household name. “When we were in the rehearsal space I wasn’t thinking about who I needed to impress, I was thinking about how much I love making music with the guys in this band.” “It [the album] feels honest and pure and that’s all we could hope for,” adds bassist Tobin Esperance. The band is set to hit the road throughout the year, kicking off with a tour of Canada and North America, with more shows to be announced soon! See the current tour dates below.

CROOKED TEETH Track Listing:
Standard Edition (Digital, CD, Vinyl)
1. Break the Fall
2. Crooked Teeth
3. My Medication
4. Born for Greatness
5. American Dreams
6. Periscope (Feat. Skylar Grey)
7. Help
8. Sunrise Trailer Park (Feat. Machine Gun Kelly)
9. Traumatic
10. None of the Above
Deluxe Edition (Digital + CD Only)
Disc 1
1. Break the Fall
2. Crooked Teeth
3. My Medication
4. Born for Greatness
5. American Dreams
6. Periscope (Feat. Skylar Grey)
7. Help
8. Sunrise Trailer Park (Feat. Machine Gun Kelly)
9. Traumatic
10. None of the Above
11. BONUS – Richochet
12. BONUS – Nothing
13. BONUS – Bleeding Through
Disc 2
1. Intro (Live at Fillmore Detroit)
2. Face Everything And Rise (Live at Fillmore Detroit)
3. Getting Away with Murder (Live at Fillmore Detroit)
4. Between Angels and Insects (Live at Fillmore Detroit)
5. Where Did The Angels Go? (Live at Fillmore Detroit)
6. Broken Home (Live at Fillmore Detroit)
7. Burn (Live at Fillmore Detroit)
8. Forever (Live at Fillmore Detroit)
9. Scars (Live at Fillmore Detroit)
10. Lifeline (Live at Fillmore Detroit)
11. Infest (Live at Fillmore Detroit)
12. Kick In The Teeth (Live at Fillmore Detroit)
13. Broken As Me (Live at Fillmore Detroit)
14. Still Swingin’ (Live at Fillmore Detroit)
15. …To Be Loved (Live at Fillmore Detroit)
16. Last Resort (Live at Fillmore Detroit)

April 11th CN Centre Prince George, Canada * with Sum 41
April 12th EnCana Event Centre Dawson Creek, Canada * with Sum 41
April 13th Shaw Conference Centre Edmonton, Canada * with Sum 41
April 14th Grey Eagle Calgary, Canada * with Sum 41
April 18th Danforth Music Hall Toronto, Canada
April 29th Fort Rock Fort Myers, FL
April 30th Welcome to Rockville Jacksonville, FL
May 7th Carolina Rebellion Charlotte, NC
May 12th KIWR Rockfest Council Bluffs, IA
May 14th Northern Invasion Somerset, WI
May 20th Rock on the Range Columbus, OH
May 27th River City Rockfest San Antonio, TX
May 28th KEGL BFD Dallas, TX
June 16th Matapaloz Festival HOCKENHEIM, Germany
June 23rd El Paso Streetfest El Paso, TX
August 11th Douglas County Fair Roseburg, OR
August 25th Alaska State Fair Palmer, AK
Purchase Tickets HERE

For More Information on Papa Roach Please Visit:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s